Charity begins…….at work

I have a firm belief that everyone should donate either time, or money, or both, to charity.

I practice what I preach.

I have crossed paths with Gareth Ralphs in a number of ways, primarily when working for him as a consultant at Wycombe District Council.

I am happy to promote here Gareth’s current fundraising efforts in the hope that you will be motivated to respond positively to one of his three “calls to action”.

 

13 Half Marathons in 13 months to celebrate a life.

That’s nearly 300,000 long strides in total.

Sweating yet?  Read on.

This year I am running 13 half marathons, in 13 months, in celebration of my son (Max) in what would have been his 13th year.

I am doing this to raise money for a very special local charity, Daisy’s Dream, who support children who experience bereavement (see: www.daisysdream.org.uk/) .  They were very supportive to my family, and this is my way of paying them back as best I can.

Thanks to some really supportive friends, family, businesses and even complete strangers, I’ve already raised over £5,000 of my £13,013 target (see: www.justgiving.com/GarethRalphs ).

Having now run ten of the thirteen races, I’ve thought quite hard about how to make the 13th and final race of the series a really special occasion,  I’m delighted to say that as well as myself running ‘for Max’ I’m going to be joined by 14 other runners who will be competing in the Maidenhead half marathon on September 16th – the week of Max’s 14th birthday and who will also be running ‘for Max’..

To make sure we hit our very challenging target, and therefore make a real difference to Daisy’s Dream, we’re now looking to attract some corporate sponsors and philanthropic individuals to really boost our fund raising efforts and help us burst through the target.

We hope you’d like to be part of our efforts and really help make a difference.

We can’t bring Max back and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t wish for that.  However, with a little effort, we can help Daisy’s Dream support children like my other son, who lost a loved one.

Max was 15 months old when he died, his brother was just four years old at the time. How do you explain what has happened to a four-year-old?  How do you support them in the following days, weeks and months?  The answer is, you get help from Daisy’s Dream.

So, what do you need to do now?

  • If you’d like to donate, to help Daisy’s dream help other children who have lost a loved one, please go to http://www.justgiving.com/GarethRalphs.
  • If you want to know more and perhaps play a bigger part in the celebration run on the 16th September, please get in touch.
  • If you know people who you think might respond positively to this, please do make them aware.

With my considerable thanks,

Gareth Ralphs


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

